Skip to main content

Lee Boys

The Lee Boys is one of America’s finest “sacred steel” ensembles, consisting of three brothers, Alvin Lee (guitar), Derrick Lee and Keith Lee (vocals) along with their three nephews, Roosevelt Collier (pedal steel guitar), Alvin Cordy Jr. (7-string bass) and Earl Walker (drums).  Lee Boys play “sacred steel,” music rooted in Gospel infused with rhythm and blues, jazz, rock, funk, hip-hop, country and African music driven by the pedal steel guitar.  In addition, Chris Johnson, a young pedal steel player from Miami, has joined Lee Boys.  Johnson, a huge fan of Collier’s, is making quite a name for himself and has shared the stage with Anders OsborneWarren HaynesRobert RandolphThe Campbell Brothers and more.   

The Lee Boys has garnered more than 750,000 music fans at festivals throughout the United States, Canada, Europe and Asia.  Their unique sound has attracted musical artists such as Allman Bros. Band, B.B. King, Buddy Guy, Robert Plant, Robert Randolph, Derek Trucks, Mavis Staples, Gov’t Mule, Blind Boys of Alabama, Black Crowes, John Legend and The Roots – all of whom have performed with the Lee Boys and/or invited them to tour with them.  Roosevelt Collier, our heralded pedal steel guitars, is often performs with multiple bands over the course of any given festival.  Following a blazing performance at the 2008 Bonnaroo, Lee Boys were asked to perform on NBC’s Late Night With Conan O’Brien; their rousing performance had the host jumping out of his chair and raving about the band. Lee Boys has also been the subject of a Florida PBS documentary.

Lee Boys’ last CD, Testify, was released in 2012 on Evil Teen Records. Testify is a captivating mix of gospel, rock and R&B that will surely appeal to the most discerning music fan. Guest players include:  Warren Haynes on vocals and lead guitar; Jimmy Herring on lead guitar;  producer/engineer/mixer Matt Grondin on electric and acoustic guitar, keyboards, backing vocals; and more.

    • Alvin Lee:  guitar
    • Derrick Lee:  vocals
    • Keith Lee:  vocals
    • Alvin Cordy Jr.:  7-string bass
    • Earl Walker:  drums
    • Roosevelt Collier:  pedal steel
    • Chris Johnson:  pedal steel
  • Visit Lee Boys’s Website

Lee Boys
Skip to content